New England Book Awards

Click here to submit titles for the 2020 New England Book Awards.

Titles submitted for the New England Book Awards must be either about New England, set in New England, or by an author residing in New England. It can be a hardcover, a paperback original, or reissue that was published between September 1, 2019 and August 31, 2020. NEIBA members are free to submit as many titles as they'd like. Non-NEIBA members will be charged a fee of $25 per title. The deadline for submissions is Friday, June 5.

A committee of NEIBA booksellers choose five finalists in each category and all NEIBA member booksellers may vote to choose the four award winners. The New England Book Awards will be presented at the Annual Fall Conference. Winners will receive $250 for literacy to a charity of their choice.

2019 Winners

Fiction - On Earth We're Briefly Gorgeous by Ocean Vuong (Penguin Press)
Nonfiction - Frederick Douglass by David W. Blight (Simon & Schuster)
Children's (Ages Birth - 11) - New Kid by Jerry Craft (HarperCollins)
Young Adult - Hey, Kiddo by Jarrett J. Krosoczka (Graphix)
(Click here to view and Edelweiss collection of all finalists.)

2018 Winners

Fiction - Little Fires Everywhere By Celeste Ng (Penguin)
Non-Fiction - Vacationland By John Hodgman (Penguin)
Children's (Ages Birth-11) - Rescue And Jessica By Jessica Kensky, Patrick Downes, illust. Scott Magoon, (Candlewick)
Young Adult - The Cruel Prince By Holly Black (Little, Brown for Young Readers)

2017 Winners

Fiction - Women In The Castle By Jessica Shattuck (William Morrow)
Non-Fiction - Stranger In The Woods By Michael Finkel (Knopf)
Children's (Ages Birth-11) Some Writer By Melissa Sweet (Houghton Mifflin Harcourt)
Young Adult - The Gentleman's Guide To Vice And Virtue By Mackenzi Lee (Katherine Tegen Books)

2016 Winners

Fiction - Before the Fall by Noah Hawley (Grand Central Publishing)
Non-Fiction -Soul of an Octopus by Sy Montgomery (Simon & Schuster)
Children's - Wolf Hallow by Lauren Wolk (Dutton/Penguin Young Readers)

2015 Winners

Fiction - Blue Horses: Poems by Mary Oliver (Penguin)
Non-Fiction - Being Mortal by Atul Gawande (Metropolitan/Macmillan)
Children's - Baba Yaga's Assistant by Marika McColla, illust. Emily Carroll (Candlewick)

2014 Winners

Fiction - Euphoria by Lily King (Grove Atlantic)
Non-Fiction - Can't We Talk About Something More Pleasant? by Roz Chast (Bloomsbury)
Children's - Firefly July by Paul Janeczko, illust. Melissa Sweet (Candlewick)

2013 Winners

Fiction - The Art Forger by Barbara A. Shapiro (Algonquin)
Non-Fiction - Bunker Hill by Nathaniel Philbrick (Penguin)
Children's - If I Built a House by Chris Van Dusen (Dial - Penguin)

2012 Winners

Fiction - The Flight Of Gemma Hardy by Margot Livesey (HarperCollins)
Non-fiction -Remembering the Music by Kate Whouley (Beacon Press)
Children's - More by I. C. Springman & illustrated by Brian Lies (Houghton Mifflin Harcourt)

2011 Winners

Fiction - Caleb’s Crossing by Geraldine Brooks (Viking)
Non-fiction - Warmth Of Other Suns by Isabel Wilkerson ( Random House)
Children's - Penderwicks at Point Mouette by Jeanne Birdsall (Knopf)

2010 Winners

Fiction - Father of the Rain by Lily King (Grove Atlantic)
Non-fiction - Let's Take the Long Way Home by Gail Caldwell (Random House)
Children's - City Dog, Country Frog written by Mo Willems and illustrated by Jon J Muth (Hyperion)

For 20 years NEIBA recognized New England authors’ “body of work” with the New England Book Awards. Beginning in 2010 we are changing the focus to specific titles, in Fiction, Non-Fiction and Children’s.


2009 Geraldine Brooks

2008 Alice Hoffman

2007 Gregory Maguire

2006 Richard Ford

2005 William Martin

2004 Archer Mayor

2003 Jodi Picoult

2002 Chris Bohjalian

2001 Elinor Lipman

2000 Suzanne Strempek Shea

1999 Wally Lamb

1998 Anita Shreve

1997 Elizabeth Berg

1996 Jamaica Kincaid

1995 Howard Norman

1994 Richard Russo

1993 Jill McCorkle

1992 Cathie Pelletier

1991 Howard Frank Mosher

1990 May Sarton


2009 Sy Montgomery

2008 Nathaniel Philbrick

2007 Roy Blount, Jr.

2006 Kevin Phillips

2005 Jane Brox

2004 Linda Greenlaw

2003 Simon Winchester

2002 Howard Zinn

2001 Robert Finch

2000 John Hanson Mitchell

1999 Bill Bryson

1998 Bernd Heinrich

1997 James Carroll

1996 David Herbert Donald

1995 Doris Kearns Goodwin

1994 Tracy Kidder

1993 Donald Hall

1992 Jonathan Kozol

1991 Geoffrey Ward, Ric Burns, Ken Burns

Children's Books

2009 Andrew Clements

2008 Tomie dePaola

2007 Julius Lester

2006 Jane Yolen

2005 Marc Simont

2004 Molly Bang

2003 Lois Lowry

2002 Leonard Everett Fisher

2001 Joan Bauer

2000 Marcia Sewall

1999 Karen Hesse

1998 Susan Meddaugh

1997 Natalie Kinsey-Warnock

1996 Steven Kellogg

1995 Natalie Babbitt

1994 Ashley Bryan

1993 William Steig

1992 Katherine Paterson

1991 Barbara Cooney

1990 Jan Brett

Editorial Excellence

1997 Henry Louis Gates, Jr.

Literary Excellence

2001 John Edgar Wideman

1999 Mary Oliver

1995 Peter Davison

New England Publishing

2009 Tilbury House

2008 Down East Books

2007 Shambhala Publications

2006 Commonwealth Editions

2005 Chelsea Green

2004 Storey Publishing

2003 Candlewick Press

2002 University Press of New England

2000 Steerforth Publishing

1998 Houghton Mifflin

1996 Curbstone Press

1994 South End Press

1993 Alyson Publications

1992 Beacon Press

1991 University of Massachusetts Press

Presidential Award Winners

Given by the NEIBA Board President for lifetime achievement in arts and letters.

2019 Stephen King

2018 Elizabeth McCracken

2017 John Irving

2016 Elizabeth Strout

2015 Lois Lowry

2014 Sy Montgomery

2013 Wendell & Florence Minor

2012 Wally Lamb

2011 Howard Frank Mosher

2010 Dahlov Ipcar

2009 Ward Just

2008 David Macaulay

2007 Richard Russo

2006 Richard Ford

2005 Tracy Kidder

2004 James Carroll

2003 Doris Kearns Goodwin

2002 Donald Hall

2001 David McCullough

2000 Seamus Heaney

1999 Arthur Miller

1998 Saul Bellow

1997 Cornel West

1996 Grace Paley

1995 Seymour Lawrence

1994 Dr. Robert Coles

1993 Doris Grumbach

1992 John Kenneth Galbraith

1991 Robert McCloskey