NEIBA Scholarship

Rusty Drugan Scholarship

(with Support from BPRNE)

Rusty Drugan pic

The Rusty Drugan Scholarship for Emerging Leaders is awarded annually in memory of Wayne “Rusty” Drugan, Executive Director of the New England Independent Booksellers Association from 1992 to 2006.

  • Applicants must presently be working full-time in a NEIBA member bookstore and have been working for at least a year.
  • Candidates may apply directly for the scholarship or be nominated by others in the book industry.
  • The scholarship includes 2 nights at the Fall Conference NEIBA Headquarters Hotel and 1 ticket to each meal function.

If you are nominating yourself, please describe in detail your background, the reasons for your interest in the award and include a copy of your resume.

If you are nominating someone else, please indicate in detail why you are nominating this person.

Email – Nominations/applications must include all the following information for both the applicant and the nominator: Name, Store Name, Current Position and Store Address.

Deadline June 14, 2019

Past Winners

2018 Nicole Brinkley, Oblong Books & Music, Rhinebeck, NY
2017 Katie Eelman, Papercuts J.P., Boston MA
2016 Cathy Taylor,  Northshire Bookstore in Manchester VT
2015 Alex W. Meriwether, Harvard Book Store, Cambridge MA / Ryan Elizabeth Clark, Gibson Bookstore, Concord NH
2014 Ann Zimmerman, Everyone’s Books, Brattleboro VT
2013 Skylar Atkins, Vermont Book Shop, Middlebury VT
2012 Marika McCoola, Odyssey Bookshop, S. Hadley MA
2011 Stacey Fish, Village Bookstore, Littleton NH
2010 Josh Christie, Sherman’s Books and Stationery, Freeport ME
2009 Susan Schlesinger, Brown University Bookstore, Providence RI
2008 Susan Fox, Red Fox Books, Glen Falls NY
2007 Megan Sullivan, Harvard Book Store, Cambridge MA