Independent Spirit Award

An annual award given by BPRNE to recognize the New England independent bookstore of the year

Congratulations to our Winners!

2019: Wellesley Books, Wellesley, MA

2018: Eight Cousins Bookstore, Falmouth, MA

2017: Water Street Bookstore, Exeter, NH

2016: Norwich Bookstore, Norwich, VT

2015: Phoenix Books in Essex, Burlington & Rutland, VT

2014: Gibson’s Bookstore, Concord, NH

2013: Northshire Bookstore

2012: Brookline Booksmith

2011: Bank Square Books

2010: Harvard Book Store

2009: Porter Square Books

2008: Maine Coast Book Shop

2007: New England Mobile Book Fair

2006: Brunswick Bookland

2005: Toadstool Bookshops

Award Criteria


An annual award given by BPRNE to recognize excellence in a bookstore member
of New England Independent Booksellers Association.


1. The store shall be a current member of New England Independent Booksellers Association

2. The store shall be principally a bookstore

3. The store shall have been in business for three years or more

4. The store shall have exhibited creative excellence in the broad spectrum of retail book selling

5. In the event of a tie, there shall be a run-off


A. The award shall be announced at the NEIBA Fall Conference and given to the winner at an event open to all Conference attendees.

B. Recommendations for a particular bookstore are open to the BPRNE membership. Each year any member may submit the name of one nominee, accompanied by a short statement in support of the choice. The submittals should be sent to the Officers at least two weeks before the spring meeting.
The officers will prepare a ballot of all qualifying nominees for the spring meeting for a discussion and a vote by the attending Membership.

C. An appropriate individualized notice for the winner shall be chosen by BPRNE (i.e. a plaque of some sort)

D. An appropriate enduring emblem of the BPRNE Independent Spirit Award shall be chosen by BPRNE.