Gilman Award

2017 Gilman Award Winner

For outstanding service as a sales representative to New England independent bookstores

Maureen Karb

Como Sales

Maureen worked at a Waldenbooks in college, and quickly realized she loved book stores, particularly when her manager broke the rules and let them run the store like it was their own. After college she took the NYU Summer Publishing course, where Roxanne Coady was one of the guest speakers. Maureen asked her advice on what she should do if she wanted to own a bookstore someday, and Roxanne’s answer was to become a sales rep. It sounded like a great idea.

Her first job was at Simon & Schuster, where she eventually became a field sales rep in the New York area. She then worked at Workman Publishing for a few years before taking a job at Barefoot Books in Cambridge to get back home to New England. That’s when a position at Como Sales opened up and she was thrilled to be working with bookstores again in her home turf! She’s been with Como Sales now for five years, and was offered the chance in late 2014 to purchase the company and bring it back to its roots as an independent rep group. She loved adding a few new publishers to her bag, and mixing in a few gift lines too. It’s always nice to keep things interesting, and she hopes to be selling in New England for many years to come! Maureen lives in Hopkinton, MA with her husband Jose and son Gabriel. When she’s not reading she’s playing soccer or enjoying the outdoors with her family.

Past Recipients of Saul Gilman Award

For outstanding service as a sales representative to New England independent bookstores

2016 Anne DeCourcey

2015 Biff Donovan

2014 Debra Woodward

2013 Nikki Mutch

2012 Bob Werner

2011 Ann Wachur

2010 Ellen Pyle

2009 Roger Saginario

2008 Tony Giordano

2007 Katie McGarry

2006 Peter Redding

2005 Bill Palizzolo

2004 John Muse

2003 Random House New England Sales Force

2002 Nanci McCrackin

2001 Karen Gudmundson

2000 Marc Seager

1999 Adena Siegel

1998 Karl Krueger

1997 David Epstein

1996 Horace Coward

1995 Alan Fairbanks

1994 Arnold Nickelsberg

1993 Ralph Woodward

1992 Raymond “Bud” Fairbanks

1991 Jane Sherrill

1990 Hal Wilson