New England Book Alert

NEIBA_Book_AlertBuyers and Booksellers Get Your Advanced Reading Here. All you have to do is click on the contact for each publisher and tell them you would like to receive an advance reading copy.

 

 

 

CHILDREN’S

DO FAIRIES BRING THE SPRING

 

By Liza Gardner Walsh (Camden, ME)

In this charming follow up to Where Do Fairies Go When It Snows, Maine author Liza Gardner Walsh explores the spring in a children’s picture book of rhyming questions. Combined with delightful illustrations by Hazel Mitchell this whimsical book will help children discover the world of fairies and learn to enjoy and appreciate the outdoors. Ages 2-7

Globe Pequot/Down East Books
9781608936335               Hardcover              $16.95
Publication Date: February 9, 2017

Contact: Emily Cable, ecable@rowman.com

 

THE NOCTURNALS: THE FALLEN STAR

By Tracey Hecht (Oquossoc, ME)

The Nocturnals, is a non-episodic, critically acclaimed middle grade series that follows three unlikely animal friends that band together to save their nighttime world! In The Fallen Star, Dawn, Tobin and Bismark awaken to disaster: all the pomelos have been poisoned and animals are falling ill. They set out to investigate and encounter a mysterious aye-aye who blames monsters from the moon. The animals suspect a more earthly explanation and must quickly find the answer. Ages 7 – 12 Years (Grades 4-6)

Fabled Films Press
9781944020057              Hardcover              $15.99
Publication Date: May 2, 2017

Contact: Stacey Ashton, staceyashton@fabledfilms.com

SULLY THE SQUIRREL EXPLORES BOSTON

By Mark Bowers (Westford, MA) and Brian Ford (North Attleboro, MA)

Sully the Squirrel Explores Boston is a well-researched, humorous, and beautifully illustrated tour through the great and historic City of Boston told through the eyes of Sully.  Sully is a curious little squirrel that has a passion for adventure and is nuts for history.

Mascot Books
9781631776359                      Hardcover                  $14.95
Publication Date: February 7, 2017

Contact: Kate McDaniel, Kate@mascotbooks.com

 

COOKING

CRANBERRY COOKBOOK

By Sally Pasley Vargas (Boston, MA)

With more than 14,000 acres of cranberry bogs in Massachusetts alone, The Cranberry Cookbook celebrates the cranberry’s position as a true “local food.” With over fifty recipes, both traditional and vibrantly modern, Boston author Sally Pasley Vargas also profiles the cranberry industry and peppers fun features and healthful facts throughout.

Globe Pequot
9781493028092                      Hardcover                  $18.00
Publication Date: April 15, 2017

Contact: Emily Cable, ecable@rowman.com

 

 

FICTION

A FIELD GUIDE TO MURDER & FLY FISHING

By Tim Weed (Putney, VT)

The tidal waters of Nantucket and the forests of New Hampshire are among the settings for these collected stories of dark adventure, about which author Ann Hood (The Book That Matters Most) wrote: “Each story is a jewel, cracking open what matters most: love, family, and our big beautiful planet.”

Green Writers Press
9780997452877                      Hardcover                 $24.95
Publication Date: April 7, 2017

Contact: Dede Cummings, dcdesignteamvt@gmail.com

 

A FUGITIVE IN WALDEN WOODS

By Norman Lock

In the fourth book of Norman Lock’s sweeping and ambitious American Novels cycle, a young man escapes from slavery into Walden Woods where he encounters Thoreau, Emerson, Hawthorne, and other artists, transcendentalists, and abolitionists. Against this historical backdrop, Lock’s “important” (Sena Jeter Naslund), “perceptive” (Victor LaValle) novel examines issues that continue to divide the United States: racism, privilege, and what it means to be free in America.

Bellevue Literary Press
9781942658221               Paperback Original              $16.99
Publication Date: June 6, 2017

Contact: Molly Mikolowski, molly.mikolowski@gmail.com

 

ALL THE BEST PEOPLE

By Sonja Yoerg (Stowe, VT)

All the Best People is a powerful and haunting story of magic, madness and misfortune in three generations of Vermont women. Yoerg weaves local historical events into a narrative which is “beautifully rendered and aching in its portrayal of a mother’s slide into mental illness” (Christopher Scotton, Secret Wisdom of the Earth)

Berkley, Penguin Random House
9780399583490                      Paperback                  $15.00
Publication Date May 2, 2017

Contact: Fareeda Bullert, fbullert@Prh.com

 

 

THE GIRL OF THE LAKE

By Bill Roorbach (Farmington, ME)

A collection of nine rich, funny, compelling stories that examine our capacity for love and are as satisfying as Bill Roorbach’s novels (Life Among Giants, The Remedy for Love, etc). Winner of an O. Henry Prize and the Flannery O’Connor Award, Roorbach has lived in New England for decades, and many of these stunning stories are set in the region.

Algonquin Books
9781616203320              Trade Paper Original (with French Flaps)                $16.95
Publication Date: June 27, 2017

Contact: Lauren Moseley, laurenm@algonquin.com

 

THE LAST KID LEFT: A Novel

By Rosecrans Baldwin

Set in Maine, Rosecrans Baldwin’s The Last Kid Left begins when a car smashes into a sculpture of a giant cowgirl. The police find two bodies in the trunk. 19-year-old Nick Toussaint Jr. is arrested for murder, and after details of the crime rip across the internet, his 16-year-old girlfriend, Emily Portis, is nearly consumed by a public hungry for every lurid detail, accurate or not. The Last Kid Left is a bold, searching novel about how our relationships operate in a hyper-connected world, and how tragedy is turned mercilessly into entertainment.

MCD (a new imprint from Farrar, Straus and Giroux)
9780374298562                Hardcover                        $27.00
Publication Date: June 6, 2017

Contact: Vicki Genna,  victoria.genna@fsgbooks.com

 

MIKHAIL AND MARGARITA

By Julie Lekstrom Himes (Marblehead, MA)

A love triangle involving Mikhail Bulgakov, famed author of The Master and Margarita, an agent of Stalin’s secret police, and the bewitching Margarita has inescapable consequences for all three in 1930s Russia. Defending art and the artist during a time of systematic deception, Himes movingly portrays one of history’s most enigmatic literary figures.

Europa Editions
9781609453756                 Paperback                $18.00
Publication Date: March 14, 2017

Contact: Laura Dshamilja, books@europaeditions.com

 

THE SISTERS CHASE

By Sarah Healy (VT)

“Part mystery, part road novel, part family saga, The Sisters Chase had me riveted from the first secret to the last revelation.” – Lisa Lutz, author of The Passenger.  “This is the kind of book that you read late into the night, eyes heavy, and wake up thinking about until you’ve finally finished the last page.” – Chevy Stevens, author of Those Girls. A gripping novel by Vermont local Sarah Healy about two sisters who are left homeless by their mother’s death, and the lengths the fierce older sister will go to protect her beloved young charge.

Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
9780544960077                    Hardcover                $25.00
Publication Date: June 27, 2017

Contact: Ayesha Mirza, ayesha.mirzatrade@hmhco.com

 

THE SUMMER HOUSE

By Hannah McKinnon (Fairfield, CT)

The Summer House hits the sweet spot of light but upmarket women’s fiction in the vein of Elin Hilderbrand or J. Courtney Sullivan. With lyrical writing, thoughtful characters, and the gorgeous the New England waterfront in Westerly Rhode Island, it’s a setting and package that readers can’t help but love.

Atria Books
9781501162800                     Paperback                        $16.00
Publication Date: June 6, 2017

Contact: William Rhino, William.Rhino@simonandschuster.com

 

MEMOIR

JACKIE’S GIRL

By Kathy McKeon

An endearing coming-of-age memoir by a young woman who spent thirteen years as Jackie Kennedy’s personal assistant and occasional nanny – and the lessons about life and love she learned from the glamorous first lady.

Gallery
9781501158940             Hardcover                  $28.00
On Sale Date: May 9, 2017

Contact:  Theresa Dooley, Theresa.dooley@simonandschuster.com

 

 

MAN OF THE YEAR: A Memoir

By Lou Cove (Amherst, MA)

Man of the Year is the true story of Louis Cove’s 13th year, one very unusual campaign and the unexpected guest that taught him how to be a man. Set in 1978 Salem, Massachusetts this book is a tale of lost innocence, of Almost Famous giving way to Boogie Nights.

Flatiron Books
9781250123961                        Hardcover                     $26.99
Publication Date: May 9, 2017

Contact: Jordan Forney, Jordan.forney@flatironbooks.com

 

MIRROR TOUCH: Notes from a Doctor Who Can Feel Your Pain

By Joel Salinas, M.D. (Boston)

Boston resident Joel Salinas is a Harvard researcher and neurologist at Massachusetts General Hospital. His specialization in brain health makes his unique trait all the more interesting. He has mirror-touch synesthesia, a condition that causes him to physically feel, in his own body, what others are physically experiencing. This is his memoir.

HarperCollins/HarperOne
9780062458667                        Hardcover                      $26.99
Publication Date: April 18, 2017

Contact: Eleanor Thacher, Eleanor.thacher@harpercollins.com

 

NON – FICTION

TRANSFORMING MEMORIES

By Liz Crocker, Polly Bennell (ME), and Holly Book

Transforming Memories is a collection of healing writings and an invitation to others, whatever their past burdens, to use the technique of spontaneous writing to reveal difficult memories more clearly. From different families and different childhoods, three women, one who lives in Maine, remember and speak out about the secrecy, silence, and shame of having an alcoholic parent.

Bull Publishing
9781936693924                    Paperback                        $15.95
Publication Date: April 1, 2017

Contact: Niki Stuckmann, nstuckmann@ipgbook.com