New England Independent Booksellers Association
NEIBA
 


NEIBA New England Book Alert
Buyers and Booksellers Get Your Advanced Reading Here

All you have to do is click on the contact for each publisher and tell them
you would like to receive an advance reading copy!
 



CHILDREN'S

TIME AND THE TAPESTRY:

A William Morris Adventure


By John Plotz, (Brookline, MA)

Captivating adventure, a feisty 13 year old girl and her 10 year old brother are taken back in time to the Pre-Raphaelite period, on the back of a bird; a quest to find the missing pieces of a William Morris tapestry, restoring its authenticity to save Grannies house from foreclosure.   Ages 9 - 14 

Bunker Hill Publishing

9781593731458                      Hardcover      $16.95                Publication Date: May 14, 2014

Contact: Carole Kitchel Bellew ckitchel@bunkerhillpublishing.com


FICTION 

BORDEAUX:

The Bitter Finish


By Janet Hubbard

Bordeaux: The Bitter Finish, set in France and NYC, takes Max and Olivier to the dark side of the international fine wine trade to solve a murder. Linda Fairstein said, “Great sense of place, clever array of characters, and terrific plotting…” Wonderful food and wine descriptions. Fans of Peter Mayle’s Vintage Capers will love this series. Twelve-city tour planned.

Poisoned Pen Press

9781464201523                     Trade Paperback       $14.95        Publication Date: April, 2014

Contact: Suzan Baroni: suzan@poisonedpenpress.com


EUPHORIA


By Lily King (Yarmouth, ME)

From New England Book Award winner Lily King comes a breathtaking novel about three young anthropologists in 1930s Papua New Guinea caught in a passionate love triangle that threatens their bonds, their careers, and, ultimately, their lives. Inspired by the adventures of revolutionary anthropologist Margaret Mead.

Atlantic Monthly Press

9780802122551          Hardcover      $25.00          Publication Date: June 3, 2014

Contact: Becca Putman, bputman@groveatlantic.com


THE FROM-AWAYS


By CJ Hauser (Redding, CT) 

Fresh talent CJ Hauser makes her literary debut with an irreverent story of two women who come to Maine in search of family and find more love, heartbreak, and friendship than they’d ever imagined one little town could hold. In the tradition of J. Courtney Sullivan’s Maine and Richard Russo’s Empire Falls.

HarperCollins/William Morrow Paperbacks

9780062310750         Trade paperback              $14.99     Publication Date: May 2014

Contact: 
Alaina Waagner, Alaina.waagner@harpercollins.com


THE ORPHANS OF RACE POINT


By Patry Francis (Brockton, MA)

Set in the close-knit Portuguese community of Provincetown, Massachusetts, The Orphans of Race Point traces the relationship between Hallie Costa and Gus Silva, who meet as children in the wake of a terrible crime that leaves Gus parentless. Their friendship evolves into an enduring and passionate love that will ask more of them than they ever imagined. 

Harper Perennial

9780062281302          Trade Paperback       $15.99             On Sale: May 6, 2014

Contact: Mary Sasso, mary.sasso@harpercollins.com


THE WIDOW’S WALK


By Robert Barclay

New from the author of If Wishes Were Horses comes The Widow’s Walk, Robert Barclay’s novel about a young architect who discovers a haunting presence in his seaside New Bedford, MA home. In the spirit of The Notebook and The Time Traveler’s Wife, this is a novel of passion, destiny, loss, and an eternal love that will bring two people together across time.

HarperCollins/William Morrow Paperbacks

9780062218803             Trade paperback            $14.99       Publication Date: April 2014

Contact: Alaina Waagner, Alaina.waagner@harpercollins.com



      HISTORY

    
    

ROBERT LOVE'S WARNINGS:

Searching for Strangers in Colonial Boston


By Cornelia H. Dayton (Ashford, CT) and Sharon V. Salinger (Irvine, CA)

Detailing a nearly forgotten aspect of colonial life, this engaging history follows the walks of an obscure town clerk, Robert Love, as he warned itinerants and sojourners to depart Boston. Love's meticulous records reveal the complex legal, social, and political landscape of New England in the decade before the Revolution.

University of Pennsylvania Press

9780812245936          Hardcover      $34.95            Publication Date: April 11, 2014

Contact: Gigi Lamm, glamm@upenn.edu

  

TAMING LUST:

Crimes Against Nature in the Early Republic


By Doron S. Ben-Atar (New Haven, CT) and Richard D. Brown (Hampton, CT)

This fascinating history examines the circumstances of two elderly New Englanders who were prosecuted and sentenced to death for bestiality at the turn of the eighteenth century. Their astonishing cases become a springboard to examine the Enlightenment Era political and religious turmoil of the region.

University of Pennsylvania Press

9780812245813                      Hardcover      $34.95      Publication Date: January 17, 2014

Contact: Gigi Lamm, glamm@upenn.edu

   
 

NON-FICTION

THE ADVENTURES OF HENRY THOREAU:

A Young Man's Unlikely Path to Walden Pond


By Michael Sims 

From the author of The Story of Charlotte’s WebThe Adventures of Henry Thoreau chronicles the ten years in his life beginning with Harvard in 1837 and ending as he walked away from Walden Pond after living in his long dreamed-of cabin for only two years. Sims tells the dramatic (and at times heartbreaking) story of how a troubled young man found a meaningful life in a tempestuous era.

Bloomsbury

9781620401958          Hardcover      $27.00            Publication Date: February 18, 2014

Contact: Megan Ernst, marketingusa@bloomsbury.com 


~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

NEIBA New England Book Alert

 
 
New England Independent Booksellers Association
1955 Massachusetts Avenue, #2, Cambridge, MA  02140
(617) 547-3642; fax: (617) 547-3759
steve@neba.org                   nan@neba.org

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software